(Santa Barbara, CA., May 2, 2019) The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation (PASF) annual competition was held for the first time at the Music Academy of the West on Sunday, April 28. Emceed by PASF Board President Deborah Bertling, seven outstanding musicians and vocal artists were awarded scholarships for use in furthering their musical performance careers. The move to the Music Academy affords the Foundation greater visibility in the arts community and attracted a larger audience for the event.

First Place Junior Instrumental Division (a new PASF category for younger musicians): Receiving a $3000 scholarship was violinist Sofia Malvinni. Sofia is a student at LaCumbre Junior High and studies with Valerie Malvinni.

Runners up were Vincent Lertchareonyong and Noelle Hadsall. Vincent is a pianist who attends San Marcos HS. His teacher is Dr. Charles Asche at UCSB. Noelle, also a pianist, attends Mountain View Elementary School and her teacher is Lana Bodnar. Vincent and Noelle each received a $1500 award.

First Place Adult Instrumental Division: Recipient of a $6,000 award was cellist Katrina Agate who is working on her Bachelor’s Degree at UCSB and studying with Jennifer Kloetzel.

Runner up in this division was Connor Rowe, a trombonist who attends Colburn School Conservatory of Music in LA. His teacher is Mark Lawrence. Connor received a $3,000 cash award.

Vocal Division: Runner-up Awards of $3000 each were presented to sopranos Litha Ashforth and Christy Lee Peterson. Litha, who studied Voice Performance at Oklahoma City University, will be attending the New England Conservatory in the Fall of 2019. Her teacher in Santa Barbara is Dauri Kennedy. Christy is pursuing a Master of Music Degree at UCSB. Her teacher is Linda DiFiori.

Honorable Mention winners also received Encouragement Awards to further their musical training and careers. Judging the competition this year were John Ballerino, Paul Berkowitz, Ani Aznavoorian, Carol Ann Manzi and David Potter.