The 2017 PSAF Scholarship Winners Announced!


        The winners: l. to r.:  Leslie Cain, Lalia Mangione, Erik Fauss, Timothy Beccue, Naomi Merer, Tyler Reece, Joanna Lynn-Jacobs, Byron Mayes

Following a rigorous audition process 12 finalists participated in the annual Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation (PASF) competition at the Fess Parker Doubletree on April 30. The PASF was formed in 1982 by the late Mrs. Lincoln Dellar to provide aid to deserving vocal and instrumental students with professional potential, who live and/or study in the Santa Barbara area. Foundation President Deborah Bertling served as emcee for the event and announced the winners to standing ovations at a post-performance reception.

First prize of $5,000, vocal division, went to Byron Mayes of UCSB who is a dual Master of Music and Doctor of Music student. First prize for instrumental division went to violist Erik Fauss of Westmont College. Second prize of $4,000, vocal, went to Naomi Merer of UCSB who is also a dual Master and Doctor of Music student. In the instrumental division, Lalia Mangione (violin) of Westmont took home second prize. Third prize of $2,500, vocal, went to Tyler Reece, currently working on his Doctor of Musical Arts at UCSB. Third prize, instrumental, went to cellist Timothy Beccue, a student at Westmont and occasional sub at Santa Barbara Symphony concerts. Fourth prizes of $1,000, were presented to pianist Leslie Cain (UCSB Doctorate Degree student) and Joanna Lynn-Jacobs (UCLA Master of Music).

All other finalists in the competition received an honorarium of $500.

The judges for the competition included Santa Barbara area musicians Dr. John Ballerino Dr. Emil Cristescu, David Potter, Geoffrey Rutkowski, and LA vocal coach Brenda Reinebach.



                            We Remember:



                                                                                                             Dr. Bernard Gondos 

The PASF Board of Directors lost a beloved member at the start of the New Year. Dr. Bernard Gondos, who had served on the board for 12 years, died unexpectedly on Jan 2nd 2017. By profession he was a pathologist, but he was an amateur violinist who played chamber music all over the world. He was also an avid tennis player. An ardent music lover, Dr. Gondos was a loyal supporter of classical music and a generous donor to The Music Academy of the West, Camerata Pacifica and several other institutions, including the Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation.The Board presented a $5,000 honorary award in Dr. Gondos’ name to Hana Shapiro, a 17-year-old promising violinist in the 2017 PASF competition.


                                                                                                                 Elizabeth Mosher

Elizabeth was an acclaimed soprano who trained at USC, earning her Bachelor of Music and Masters of Music there. With a Fullbright Scholarship she studied at the Hochschule fur Musik in Hamburg, Germany. After singing many leading roles in Europe she returned to the US in 1963, where she received two Martha Baird Rockefeller Grants and won the Walter Naumburg Award for concert artists in 1964. Here teaching career included the University of Michigan, University of Arizona and UCSB, from which she retired in 2005. She served on summer faculties of Interlochen, Graz and Salzburg. She served on the PASF Board of Directors for 12 years. She passed away in May 2016, just after the PASF competition.